Mid-Year Portfolio Update

2023 mid-year cost of investment in Singapore dollars:

1. Handpicked stocks: $218400

2. Syfe Reit: $5500

3. Syfe Core: S6600

4. MoneyOwl: 15900

Total: $246400

Unless something major happens in my life, I’m on track to reach $250000 by August.

By the way, what happened to the much predicted recession that was supposed to take place in 2023? Did it happen, or did it not? Without an outright declaration in major news media that the world is going through a global recession, everything does seem to be fine and dandy by the half-year mark of the year.

It seems like sunny weather is out and the rain coat is due back in the closet as far as the global investment environment goes.

I, however, through tainted pessimistic lens still see a couple of dark clouds in the horizon, although their forms are perpetually altering.

Russia’s invasion of Ukraine and the war between these two countries are still in progress. Other geopolitical and trade tensions are mounting. The USA and China are still in conflict over a host of issues. Potential hot spots in the Taiwan Straits, the Middle East, and the South China Sea region continue to grab the headlines.

The eurozone is technically in a recession, after 2 quarters of -0.1% growth. The Chinese stock market remains lacklustre. Global inflation remains an untameable beast. The banking crises in America, while controlled, is still not averted entirely. The surge in AI stocks could be a bubble and investor sentiment could turn south anytime

There is still a lot of uncertainty around. In spite of global economic unpredictability, I continue to just DCA my investments. Rain or shine, 30% of my paycheck goes to my investment every month.

I have a plan and I am sticking to it!

Leave a comment